The Minneapolis Riverfront Partnership would like to extend its warm thanks to each of the entrants in the 2014 Mississippi Minute Film Festival! We’ve been so lucky to have a wide range of talent, interest, and entries that each warrant a viewing (or more!).

The winners are listed and shown here, by category (all film entries may be seen at this link). All winners – with the exception of the viewer’s choice award – were determined by a five-judge panel, which included: Jesse Bishop (Programming Manager, Film Society of Minneapolis Saint Paul), Brian Heywood (Executive Director, the Soap Factory), Brenda Langton (Owner, Spoonriver Restaurant), Sara McKenzie (Editor, the Journal Newspaper), and Tom Meyer (Founding partner, MSR Architects).

You can also browse an alphabetical list of all 17 film entries we received.

Relax, and enjoy a range of compelling perspectives on the Mississippi River!


Best of show

Mississippi Night

by Jack McTigue

Viewer’s choice award



by Cabin in the Woods


Upper Harbor Terminal

First prize

Summer of 1975

by David Tinjum, Videography by Josh Zenner, a Mill City Times Production


River, Wind, Canoe

by John Gigrich and Sam Spencer

Upper River

First prize

It’s the Mighty Mississippi

a cartoon by John Akre


Labor Day

by Isabelle Harder, the Starfolk

Central Riverfront

First prize

Why Yes

by Artis Curiskis and Sara Rothholz Weiner



by James Tucker and Ryan Siemers

Lower Gorge

First prize

An Evening on the River with the Minneapolis Rowing Club

by Lisa Ohnstad


Time two, time three

by Phillip O’Toole

Background photo courtesy Ruth Hartnup under CC-BY-2.0-license via Photo cropped and lightened for use as page background.