Mississippi Minute Film Festival logo

The Minneapolis Riverfront Partnership would like to extend its warm thanks to each of the entrants in the 2016 Mississippi Minute Film Festival! We’ve been so lucky to have a wide range of talent, interest, and entries that each warrant a viewing (or more!).

In celebration of the National Park Service’s Centennial, the Minneapolis Riverfront Partnership expanded the Mississippi Minute film festival to include the entire 72 miles of this unique riverfront park.
Upper Mississippi: Dayton and Ramsey to Minneapolis City Limits
Minneapolis Riverfront: Minneapolis northern city limits to Ford Dam
St. Paul Riverfront: Ford Dam to St. Paul Southern City Limits
Lower Mississippi: St. Paul Southern City Limits to Hastings/Point Douglas

The winners are listed and shown here. All winners – with the exception of the viewer’s choice award – were determined by a nine-judge panel, which included: Jay Cowles (Chair, Mississippi Park Connection); Dan Dressler (National Park Service); Aaron Dysart (City Artist in Residence, Public Art Saint Paul); Paul Hicks (Mayor, City of Hastings); Anne Hunt (Environmental Policy Director, Office of Mayor Chris Coleman); Tom Johnson (Former MRP Board Member, Attorney at Gray Plant Mooty); Brenda Langton (Owner, Spoonriver Restaurant; Founder Mill City Farmer’s Market); Derek McCallum (Best of Show Filmmaker, 2015; AIA, Leed BD+C, Principal RSP Architects); Susan Smoluchowski (Executive Director, The Film Society of Minneapolis St. Paul)

You can also browse an alphabetical list of all 20 film entries we received.

Relax, and enjoy a range of compelling perspectives on the Mississippi River!


Best in show

mr. sippy

by Heather Novak-Peterson & Dan Haugh


People’s Choice


Directed by Erin Cole, Music and Sound by Jordan Hedlund, Acting by Charlotte Tate


Upper Mississippi

First prize

Dam the Mississippi

By Skip Carlson


Lower Mississippi

First prize

The Edge Effect with Chris Faust

By John Shepard, Producer; Tracy Fredin Executive Producer


Minneapolis Riverfront

First prize

Now Playing

By James Tucker



Directed by Erin Cole, Music and Sound by Jordan Hedlund, Acting by Charlotte Tate

Honorable Mention


By Mark Ryan

Honorable Mention

Mighty Mississippi

By Mark Nystrom, Jimmy Gildea, Elizabeth Turner, CeCeBell, Annette Wiseman, and Jeanne Whitehill

St. Paul Riverfront

First prize

Gordy Mergens: Rooted to the River

By Patrick Deninger


One-River Thinking with Lyndon Torstenson

By John Shepard, Producer; Tracy Fredin, Executive Producer

• View all submitted films for the 2016 Mississippi Minute Film Festival